?> La Vachalcade | Petit Palais

Thirteen children move forward in a closely-bunched line to the sound of a drum under the banner of Poverty. Here, Fernand Pelez, a painter from Montmartre, gives us his version of the Vachalcade, a people’s carnival held in Montmartre in March 1896.

The Vachalcade was a Montmartre festival with processions and a themed float parade, intended to create an assistance fund for artists living in poverty. Its name came from a contraction of the words "vache" and "cavalcade", in reference to the traditional fat ox festival on the third Thursday in Lent.

Here Pelez depicts a group of children wearing costumes and face paint. Their over-sized clothing parodies the world of adults by making fun of the bourgeois codes to which these bowler hats and floral bonnets belong. In the right hand section of the painting, the faces are totally hidden behind masks, with distorted mouths highlighted in red. In the centre, there is a smiling Pierrot dressed in white with his face covered in flour. His attitude expresses cheerfulness tinged with irony, in the manner of the figures popularised by Adolphe Willette, one of the artists who was greatly involved in the organisation of the procession.

There is no backdrop for this street scene, just a simple cracked wall behind the frieze of children who seem to be posing for an invisible photographer before resuming their march. The underlying drawing can be faintly seen beneath the oil paint applied in fine beige and pink layers. These muted tones create the impression of a fresco painted directly onto the wall.

The painting’s origins are shrouded in mystery, as Pelez never exhibited this large canvas outside of his studio. The location of the preparatory paintings, which are visible in the photographs taken of the studio in 1913 after the painter's death, is currently unknown. Pelez first of all studied each figure separately, then in small groups painted on the same scale as the final painting. La Vachalcade was one of the revelations of the posthumous exhibition in 1913 held at 72 Boulevard de Clichy. The painter's sisters then donated it to the City of Paris.

I. C.

City of Paris municipal collection's website

City of Paris municipal collection's website

The collections portal can be used to search the collections of Paris’s 14 municipal museums (approximately 336,000 works, including 43,000 belonging to the Petit Palais).

It is also possible to download around 12,000 images of the museum’s works free of charge.

Access the Museums of the City of Paris collections portal
Autre base documentaire

Extern databases

Discover a selection of databases online presenting works from the Petit Palais or documents concerning the history of the museum.

?> La Vachalcade | Petit Palais

Treize enfants avancent en un cortège compact, au son du tambour, sous la bannière de la Misère. Le peintre de Montmartre, Fernand Pelez, nous donne ici sa version de la Vachalcade, carnaval populaire qui eut lieu sur la Butte en mars 1896.

Fête montmartroise animée par des cortèges et un défilé de chars à thème, la Vachalcade était  destinée à créer un fond d’entraide pour les artistes dans la misère. Son nom vient d’une contraction des mots "vache" et "cavalcade", en référence à la traditionnelle fête du bœuf gras de la Mi-carême.

Pelez représente ici un groupe d’enfants costumés et grimés. Leurs vêtements trop grands parodient le monde des adultes en se moquant des codes de la bourgeoisie à laquelle étaient destinés ces chapeaux melons et ces capelines fleuries. Dans la partie droite du tableau les visages sont totalement dissimulés derrière des masques aux bouches déformées soulignées de rouge. Au centre, un Pierrot vêtu de blanc, la face enfarinée, sourit. Son attitude exprime une gaieté teintée d’ironie à la manière des figures popularisées par Adolphe Willette, artiste très engagé dans l’organisation du défilé.

Pas de décor pour cette scène de rue, mais un simple mur lézardé derrière la frise des enfants qui semblent poser pour un invisible photographe avant de reprendre leur marche. La peinture à l’huile appliquée en fines couches beiges et roses laisse apparaitre le dessin sous-jacent. Ces tonalités sourdes créent l’illusion d’une fresque peinte à même le mur.

La genèse de ce tableau est parée de mystère, car Pelez n’exposa jamais cette grande toile en dehors de son atelier. Aujourd’hui non localisées, les peintures préparatoires sont visibles sur les photographies prises dans l’atelier en 1913, après la mort du peintre. Pelez a d’abord étudié chaque figure séparément, puis par petits groupes peints à la même échelle que le tableau final. La Vachalcade comptait ainsi parmi les révélations de l’exposition posthume de 1913 organisée au 72 boulevard de Clichy. Les sœurs du peintre en firent alors don à la Ville de Paris.

I. C.

Portail des collections des musées de la Ville de Paris

Portail des collections des musées de la Ville de Paris

Le portail des collections permet d'effectuer des recherches au sein des collections des 14 musées municipaux parisiens (environ 336 000 œuvres dont 43 000 œuvres du Petit Palais).

Il est également possible de télécharger gratuitement près de 12 000 images d'œuvres du musée.

Consulter le portail des collections
Autre base documentaire

Autres bases documentaires

Découvrez une sélection de bases documentaires en ligne présentant des oeuvres du Petit Palais ou des documents en lien avec l'histoire du bâtiment et du musée.