?> Jérôme de La Lande | Petit Palais

This work executed circa 1769 by Fragonard, then at the peak of his art, is perhaps part of his famous series of fantastical portraits, several of which are held at the Louvre Museum.

This is a group of portraits painted with quick brushstrokes, all in the same format, depicting the artists’ friends or customers, such as Diderot, Mademoiselle Guimard, a famous dancer, and the Abbot of St.Non. The upper half of these figures are depicted dressed in opulent “fantasy” outfits or “Spanish-style” costumes as they were known at the time, accompanied by a few accessories that perhaps symbolised the model’s profession. Although it is of a slightly different size from the rest of the series, the painting at the Petit Palais is typical of these genre portraits.

For a long time the colouring pencils and paintbrushes led us to believe that this was a portrait of the pastel artist, Charles Naudin. Because of the presence of the globe, most historians now believe, albeit without certainty, that Fragonard in fact painted Jérôme de La Lande, (Joseph-Jérôme Le François known as Lalande, 1732-1807), an astronomer who was very famous in his time. Lalande became famous by predicting the passage of Halley’s Comet, accurate to a month, and also calculated the distance between the earth and the moon.

The facial features, particularly the very domed forehead, and the bald head are reminiscent of the official portraits of Jérôme de LaLande, in particular a terracotta bust modelled by Houdon. However, without attaching too much importance to resemblance, Fragonard seems to have improved on the looks of his model, who was very ugly.

Whoever the model was, this remains a beautiful painting in which Fragonard essentially sought to capture a fleeting expression. With a hasty execution and vigorous, even imperious touch, he gives a sketch-like feel to his work, conveying the vivacity and intelligence of its subject wonderfully.

M. A. P.

City of Paris municipal collection's website

City of Paris municipal collection's website

The collections portal can be used to search the collections of Paris’s 14 municipal museums (approximately 336,000 works, including 43,000 belonging to the Petit Palais).

It is also possible to download around 12,000 images of the museum’s works free of charge.

Access the Museums of the City of Paris collections portal
Autre base documentaire

Extern databases

Discover a selection of databases online presenting works from the Petit Palais or documents concerning the history of the museum.

?> Jérôme de La Lande | Petit Palais

Cette oeuvre exécutée vers 1769 par Fragonard, alors au sommet de son art, se rattache peut-être à la célèbre série des portraits de fantaisie dont le musée du Louvre conserve plusieurs toiles.

Il s’agit d’un groupe de portraits rapidement brossés, de même format, où l’artiste a représenté ses amis ou des clients, tels Diderot, Mademoiselle Guimard, une célèbre danseuse, et l’Abbé de Saint-Non.Ces figures sont représentées à mi-corps, parées de riches costumes « de fantaisie » qu’on appelait alors « à l’espagnole », et accompagnées de quelques accessoires, qui pourraient symboliser la profession du modèle. Bien que de taille légèrement différente du reste de la série, le tableau du Petit Palais est caractéristique de la manière de ces portraits de genre.

Les crayons de couleur  et les pinceaux ont longtemps laissé penser que ce portrait était celui du pastelliste, Charles Naudin. En raison de la présence de la mappemonde, la plupart des historiens estiment aujourd’hui, mais sans certitude, que Fragonard a peint Jérôme de La Lande, (Joseph-Jérôme Le François dit Lalande, 1732-1807), un astronome très célèbre en son temps. Lalande acquit la célébrité en prévoyant, à un mois près, le passage de la comète de Halley et calcula aussi la distance de la terre à la lune.

Les traits du visage, notamment le front très bombé, et la calvitie rappellent singulièrement les portraits attestés de Jérôme de LaLande, notamment un buste de terre cuite modelé par Houdon. Toutefois, sans trop s’attacher à la ressemblance, Fragonard aurait sensiblement embelli son modèle qui était fort laid.

Quel que soit ce modèle, reste un très beau morceau de peinture où Fragonard cherche essentiellement à capter la fugacité de l’expression. Par une exécution hâtive, une touche vigoureuse, impérieuse même, il confère à  son œuvre un caractère d’esquisse suggérant à merveille la vivacité et l’intelligence du personnage.

M. A. P.

Portail des collections des musées de la Ville de Paris

Portail des collections des musées de la Ville de Paris

Le portail des collections permet d'effectuer des recherches au sein des collections des 14 musées municipaux parisiens (environ 336 000 œuvres dont 43 000 œuvres du Petit Palais).

Il est également possible de télécharger gratuitement près de 12 000 images d'œuvres du musée.

Consulter le portail des collections
Autre base documentaire

Autres bases documentaires

Découvrez une sélection de bases documentaires en ligne présentant des oeuvres du Petit Palais ou des documents en lien avec l'histoire du bâtiment et du musée.