06 October 2020 to 28 February 2021

Temporary exhibition

Laurence Aëgerter

Ici mieux qu'en face

#LaurenceAegerter

Avenue Winston Churchill 75008 Paris

Tel : 01 53 43 40 00

Free entrance

Laurence Aëgerter invites the public to discover or rediscover the collections of the Petit Palais through a tour of some fifty works of art distilled in the different areas of the museum, in a vis-à-vis combining poetry and sensitivity.

Since her childhood, Laurence Aëgerter has cultivated a passion for paintings and antiques, encyclopaedias and practical manuals, museum catalogues and images. In 1993, she left France for the Netherlands, where she has lived and worked ever since, to pursue studies in art history and later,  the visual arts. Fascinated by masterpieces, as well as the smallest everyday objects, she relentlessly marvels at the beauty of things and the infinity of their perceptions.

Inspired by both its architecture and its collections, the exhibition weaves its way from room to room and into the garden, inventing disturbing and stimulating resonances with the works. Touched by their grace but also their fragility, Laurence Aëgerter attempts to take care of these sleeping objects and to offer them a new life.

The artist's proposal for the Petit Palais reflects her insatiable curiosity for a space with which she has maintained a visual, sensitive and poetic correspondence for over two years. The devices she imagines are fuelled by the desire for escape. Through the revelation of the reverse side of reality , vacillating between illusion and reality reality , she constructs stories. Her scenarios provoke collisions and shifts, where chance and imagination invite themselves to the table of creation. Inspired by the principle of the mirror or the trompe-l'oeil, she likes to invert situations and open up other fields of possibilities when it comes to representing the world.

The permanence of memory, the passage of time and the precariousness of human lives recur throughout her work. As if to better exorcise these themes, she devises a joyful promenade that plays with superimpositions, duplications and metamorphoses. The photographs, sculptures and textile works that she creates are proof that it is possible to play with the ghosts of our past. In this unexpected journey, Laurence Aëgerter accompanies us across several centuries of art history and reinvents the museum by infusing it with a breath of new life.

 

Curators :

Fannie Escoulen (guest curator), Susana Gállego Cuesta, Christophe Leribault, Clara Roca (Petit Palais curators)

This exhibition was produced thanks to the Mondriaan Fund



It benefits from the support of the Dutch Embassy

Du 06 octobre 2020 au 17 janvier 2021

Exposition temporaire

Laurence Aëgerter

Ici mieux qu'en face

#LaurenceAegerter

Avenue Winston Churchill 75008 Paris

Tel : 01 53 43 40 00

Entrée libre

Au sein d’un parcours articulé autour d’une cinquantaine d’œuvres distillées dans les différents espaces du musée, Laurence Aëgerter invite le public à découvrir ou redécouvrir les collections du Petit Palais, dans un vis-à-vis mêlant poésie et sensibilité

Laurence Aëgerter cultive depuis l’enfance une passion pour les tableaux et les antiquités, les encyclopédies et les manuels pratiques, les catalogues de musées et les images. En 1993, elle quitte la France pour les Pays-Bas, où elle vit et travaille depuis, pour poursuivre des études d’histoire de l’art puis d’arts visuels. Fascinée par les chefs-d’œuvre comme par les plus petits objets du quotidien, elle s’émerveille sans relâche de la beauté des choses et de l’infinité de leurs perceptions.

La proposition de l’artiste au sein du Petit Palais reflète son insatiable curiosité pour un lieu avec lequel elle a entretenu pendant plus de deux ans une correspondance visuelle, sensible et poétique. Imprégnée tant de son architecture que de ses collections, elle s’immisce de salle en salle jusqu’au jardin, et invente des vis-à-vis troublants et stimulants avec les œuvres. Touchée par leur grâce mais aussi par leur fragilité, elle vient prendre soin de ces objets endormis et leur offre de nouvelles vies.

Les dispositifs qu’elle imagine participent d’un même désir d’échappatoire. C’est en révélant l’envers du réel, entre illusion et réalité, qu’elle construit des histoires. Ses scénarios provoquent des collisions et des glissements et le hasard et l’imaginaire s’invitent à sa table de création. Sur le principe du miroir ou du trompe-l’œil, elle aime retourner les situations et ouvrir d’autres champs des possibles à la représentation du monde.

La permanence de la mémoire, le chemin du temps et la précarité de nos existences ne cessent de l’habiter. Comme pour mieux les exorciser, elle échafaude une promenade joyeuse qui joue des superpositions, des dédoublements et des métamorphoses. Les photographies, sculptures et œuvres textiles qu’elle nous livre sont la preuve qu’il est possible de jouer avec les fantômes de notre passé. Dans ce voyage inattendu, Laurence Aëgerter nous accompagne à travers plusieurs siècles de l’histoire de l’art et réinvente un musée pour y souffler un vent de liberté.

Commissariat :

Fannie Escoulen (commissaire invitée), Susana Gallego-Cuesta, Christophe Leribault, Clara Roca (commissaires du Petit Palais)

 

L'exposition a été réalisée grâce au Mondriaan Fund

Elle bénéficie du soutien de l'Ambassade des Pays-Bas

 

 

Autour de l’exposition