18 October 2022 to 08 January 2023

Temporary exhibition

Ugo Rondinone

#UgoRondinonePetitPalais

Avenue Winston-Churchill 75008 Paris

Tel : 01 53 43 40 00

Free entrance

Tuesday to Sunday from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm
Every Fridays and Saturdays until 7:00 pm

the water is a poem
unwritten by the air
no. the earth is a poem
unwritten by the fire

 

Ugo Rondinone’s exhibition at the Petit Palais comprises two ensembles of works enhanced by a new video installation. Revolving around human bodies in contact with the elements and nature, these works are in keeping with the multiple families of works produced by the artist since the late 1980s. Earth, sky, air, water and fire, associated with beings at rest or in movement, are invoked in the fulness of their spiritual dimension.

The first ensemble, humansky, welcomes visitors and immediately underlines the melding of being and the elements: seven moulded, suspended bodies embellished with a blue cloud-dotted sky «camouflage» confronting visitors with water and air.

 The second group, historically the source of this trilogy, consists of nudes. Made from a blend of transparent wax and earth collected from seven continents, these sculptures also have a «camouflaged» look stemming from the mixing of their non-homogeneous components. They depict the bodies of male and female dancers seated and at rest. Created on a human scale, these nudes seem realistic at first, until the visitor, coming closer, discovers their clearly artificial aspect, particularly visible at the junction of their limbs with their bodies. These sculptures are thus «paradoxical» in their compliance with the Rondinone aesthetic: he plays on the «opposition» between what is expected of a dancer, and the pose he makes each one assume. Banishing any choreographed gesture and any reference to the stage space, these motionless, withdrawn bodies seem to have become one with nature, intensely concentrated and lost in a meditative state. 

From one ensemble to the next visitors witness a process of bodies in mutation: moving from the ethereal suspension of humansky to the quasi-lethargy of the nudes, the bodies are «reborn» in the film burn to shine, whose presentation at the Petit Palais is a world premiere. The film is projected onto six screens inside a cylindrical space made of charred wood and forming a circle, a recurring geometric figure for the artist. The body is in movement here: 12 percussionists and 18 male and female dancers are gathered around a fire in the desert. Combining an ancestral trance from the Maghreb with the gestures of a contemporary dance conceived with the help of Franco-Moroccan choreographer Fouad Boussouf, they unite with nature from sunset until dawn, when the sun rises again.

According to the artist, the link between the first two groups and burn to shine is a desire for transformation: «The initial inspiration came from a poem by John Giorno titled ‘You must burn to shine’»: a Buddhist proverb about the coexistence of life and death, reminiscent of the much older Greek myth of the phoenix, the immortal bird that regenerates cyclically or is reborn in a different way. Associated with the sun, the phoenix receives new life by resurrecting from the ashes of its predecessor”. 

Lastly, the artist has taken into account works belonging to the Petit Palais, with which his own are confronted here. He has turned to anthropomorphic sculptures from the museum’s collection to better «contextualise» the nudes and surrounded the cylinder of burn to shine with four paintings by Eugène Carrière.

 

 

Exhibition made possible through the collaboration and support of Galerie Eva Presenhuber, Zurich ; Esther Schipper, Berlin ; Sadie Coles HQ, London ; Gladstone, New York ; kamel mennour, Paris et Kukje Gallery, Seoul. 

 

Exhibition curators: 

Juliette Singer, Chief curator, in charge of contemporary projects at the Petit Palais, Paris
Erik Verhagen, Professor of contemporary art history, Université polytechnique Hauts-de-France 

 

En partenariat avec

Du 18 octobre 2022 au 08 janvier 2023

Exposition temporaire

Ugo Rondinone

#UgoRondinonePetitPalais

Avenue Winston-Churchill 75008 Paris

Tel : 01 53 43 40 00

Entrée libre

Du mardi au dimanche, de 10h à 18h
Les vendredis et samedis jusqu'à 19h

the water is a poem
unwritten by the air
no. the earth is a poem
unwritten by the fire

 

L’intervention d’Ugo Rondinone au sein du Petit Palais réside en deux ensembles de travaux, prolongés par une installation vidéo inédite. S’articulant autour de corps humains en prise avec les éléments et la nature, ceux-ci s’inscrivent dans la continuité des multiples familles d’œuvres produites par l’artiste depuis la fin des années 1980. La terre, le ciel, l’air, l’eau et le feu associés à des êtres au repos ou en mouvement sont ici convoqués, dans toute leur dimension spirituelle. 

Le premier ensemble de travaux qui accueillent les visiteurs, humansky, souligne d’emblée cette confusion entre l’être et les éléments. Sept corps moulés, agrémentés d’un « camouflage » évoquant un ciel bleu constellé de nuages, sont suspendus. Ils confrontent le visiteur à l’eau et à l’air.

Le deuxième ensemble, d’où historiquement, est née cette trilogie, est constitué des nudes. À base de cire transparente mélangée avec de la terre, prélevée sur sept continents, ces sculptures présentent aussi un aspect « camouflé », produit par l’assemblage de ces matières non homogènes. Elles mettent en scène des corps de danseurs et danseuses assis et au repos. Réalisés à échelle humaine, ces nus semblent d’abord réalistes, avant que le visiteur, en s’approchant, ne découvre leur aspect clairement artificiel, particulièrement visible au niveau de la jonction de leurs membres avec leur corps. Ces sculptures sont ainsi « paradoxales » et conformes en cela à l’esthétique d’Ugo Rondinone : il joue sur « l’opposition » entre ce qui est attendu d’un danseur ou d’une danseuse, et la pose qu’il leur fait prendre.  Ces corps immobiles, repliés sur eux-mêmes, évacuent tout geste chorégraphié et toute référence à l’espace scénique : ils semblent se fondre avec la nature, l’esprit concentré, perdus dans un état méditatif. 

D’un ensemble à l’autre, les visiteurs assistent à un processus de mutation des corps : d’une suspension éthérée avec humansky, à une quasi léthargie avec les nudes, les corps « renaissent » dans le film burn to shine, dont la présentation au Petit Palais constitue une première mondiale. Le film est projeté sur six écrans, à l’intérieur d’un écrin cylindrique en bois calciné qui forme un cercle, figure géométrique récurrente chez l’artiste. Le corps est ici en mouvement : 12 percussionnistes, 18 danseurs et danseuses sont réunis dans le désert, autour d’un feu. S’adonnant à une transe ancestrale héritée du Maghreb, conjuguée aux gestes d’une danse contemporaine pensée avec le concours du chorégraphe franco-marocain Fouad Boussouf, ils s’unissent à la nature, du coucher du soleil jusqu’à l’aube, au moment où le soleil se lève de nouveau. 

Selon Ugo Rondinone, ce qui relierait les deux premiers groupes à burn to shine est un désir de transformation : « L’inspiration initiale est venue d’un poème de John Giorno intitulé “Tu dois brûler pour briller“, un proverbe bouddhiste sur la coexistence de la vie et de la mort, semblable à la mythologie grecque bien plus ancienne du phénix, l’oiseau immortel qui se régénère de manière cyclique ou renaît d’une autre manière. Associé au soleil, un phénix reçoit une nouvelle vie en renaissant des cendres de son prédécesseur ». 

Enfin, l’artiste a tenu compte des œuvres du Petit Palais auxquelles les siennes sont confrontées. Il s’est appuyé sur les sculptures anthropomorphiques de la collection du musée pour mieux « asseoir » les nus et a entouré le cylindre de burn to shine de quatre peintures d’Eugène Carrière.

 

 

L'exposition a été rendue possible grâce à Galerie Eva Presenhuber, Zurich ; Esther Schipper, Berlin ; Sadie Coles HQ, London ; Gladstone, New York ; kamel mennour, Paris et Kukje Gallery, Seoul.

Commissariat : 
Juliette Singer, conservatrice en chef, responsable des projets art contemporain au Petit Palais
Erik Verhagen, professeur en histoire de l’art contemporain, Université polytechnique Hauts-de-France

 

En partenariat avec