Nature plays an essential role in the myth of Arion saved from the waters. In order to tell this story, Moreau portrays the musician-poet as an Eastern prince and surrounds him with craggy rocks borrowed from the works of Leonardo da Vinci.

The legend of the Greek lyric poet and musician Arion comes to us from Herodotus. While returning to Corinth after a trip to Sicily, Arion is robbed of his wealth and thrown into the sea by sailors on his ship. Thanks to the intervention of Apollo, a dolphin rescues him and carries him to the shore on its back. The god transforms Arion’s lyre and the dolphin into a constellation in memory of the adventure.

Ancient mythology enabled Gustave Moreau to express “the sublime logic of the imagination” which guided his work. However, the poet distanced himself from what he called “that hackneyed old classical Greek style” and invented a visual universe drawing the daring intensity of his colours and a taste for the arabesque from the most exotic sources ranging from India to Japan.

In the year in which he painted this work for Jules Clément Chaplain, the lithographer, sculptor and medal engraver, Moreau emerged from the isolation of his studio to teach at the Ecole des Beaux-Arts [School of Fine Art]. His students, notably Rouault, Matisse and Marquet, appreciated his open-mindedness and his influence extended beyond the school to artists such as Odilon Redon, George Desvallières and the Belgian Symbolists.

I. C.

City of Paris municipal collection's website

City of Paris municipal collection's website

The online catalogue of the Petit Palais collections includes around 35,000 notes and is added to regularly. Some notes have minimal information; others are more detailed. They are illustrated or they will be shortly.

Access the catalogue of the Petit Palais collections
Autre base documentaire

Extern databases

Discover a selection of databases online presenting works from the Petit Palais or documents concerning the history of the museum.

Le site utilise des cookies pour le fonctionnement des boutons de partage sur les réseaux sociaux et la mesure d'audience des vidéos et des pages de ce site. En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez leur utilisation. En savoir plus et gérer ses paramètres ici.

La nature joue un rôle essentiel dans le mythe d’Arion sauvé des flots. Pour évoquer cet épisode, Moreau donne au poète musicien l’allure d’un prince d’Orient et l’entoure d’un paysage aux rochers escarpés inspiré des fonds de Léonard de Vinci.

La légende d’Arion, poète lyrique et musicien grec, nous a été transmise par Hérodote. De retour à Corinthe après un voyage en Sicile, Arion dépouillé de sa fortune est jeté à la mer par les marins du navire. Grâce à l’intervention d’Apollon, un dauphin le recueille et le porte sur son dos jusqu’au rivage. Le dieu, en souvenir de l’aventure, transforme en constellation la lyre d’Arion et le dauphin.

La mythologie antique permet à  Gustave Moreau de mettre en oeuvre « cette logique sublime de l’imagination »,  qui guide son oeuvre. Le peintre se démarquant toutefois de ce qu’il nomme « la vieille friperie grecque classique » invente un univers pictural  qui puise aux sources les plus exotiques, de l’Inde au Japon, l’audace des couleurs intenses et le goût de l’arabesque.

L’année où il peint ce tableau pour Jules Clément Chaplain, lithographe, sculpteur et graveur de médaille, Moreau sort de l’isolement de son atelier pour enseigner à  l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts. Ses élèves, notamment Rouault, Matisse et Marquet, apprécient son ouverture d’esprit tandis que son influence s’exerce hors de l’école sur des artistes tels que Odilon Redon, George Desvallières et les symbolistes belges.

I. C.

Base de données des oeuvres de la Ville de Paris

Base de données des oeuvres de la Ville de Paris

Le catalogue en ligne des collections du Petit Palais compte aujourd'hui près de 35000 notices d'oeuvres et continue à s'enrichir progressivement.

Consulter le catalogue en ligne des collections du Petit Palais
Autre base documentaire

Autres bases documentaires

Découvrez une sélection de bases documentaires en ligne présentant des oeuvres du Petit Palais ou des documents en lien avec l'histoire du bâtiment et du musée.