+ ALL CITY OF PARIS MUSEUMS

Discover all 14 City of Paris museums

» Fermer
 Anonymous - Sedan chair
François Boucher - The little dog’s dance
Jean-Baptiste Greuze - Young Shepherd Holding a Flower
Hubert Robert - The Laundry
 Jean Moisy (clockmaker) and Jean-Claude Chambellan known as Duplessis (goldsmith) - Organ pipe clock with a monkey orchestra
Hubert Robert - Washerwomen in a garden
 Adrien Delorme and Pierre Roussel - Chest of drawers
Giambattista  Tiepolo - Alexander and Bucephalus
Nicolas Sageot - « Mazarin » table desk
Claude Joseph Vernet - The Tivoli Cascades
Jean-Honoré Fragonard - Jérôme de La Lande
 Manufacture de Beauvais - Tapestry : Psyche Led by the West Wind into the Palace of Love and Psyche Showing Her Wealth to Her Sisters
Roger Van der Cruse known as La Croix or RVLC (Attributed to) - Combination furniture : commode with doors, secretaire in drawer, wardrobe
Jacques Louis David - The death of Seneca

Jérôme de La Lande

Jean-Honoré
Fragonard
1732, Grasse (Alpes-Maritimes) - 1806, Paris
circa 1769
Oil on canvas
72 x 59,5 cm

This work executed circa 1769 by Fragonard, then at the peak of his art, is perhaps part of his famous series of fantastical portraits, several of which are held at the Louvre Museum.

This is a group of portraits painted with quick brushstrokes, all in the same format, depicting the artists’ friends or customers, such as Diderot, Mademoiselle Guimard, a famous dancer, and the Abbot of St. Non. The upper half of these figures are depicted dressed in opulent “fantasy” outfits or “Spanish-style” costumes as they were known at the time, accompanied by a few accessories that perhaps symbolised the model’s profession. Although it is of a slightly different size from the rest of the series, the painting at the Petit Palais is typical of these genre portraits.

For a long time the colouring pencils and paintbrushes led us to believe that this was a portrait of the pastel artist, Charles Naudin. Because of the presence of the globe, most historians now believe, albeit without certainty, that Fragonard in fact painted Jérôme de La Lande, (Joseph-Jérôme Le François known as Lalande, 1732-1807), an astronomer who was very famous in his time. Lalande became famous by predicting the passage of Halley’s Comet, accurate to a month, and also calculated the distance between the earth and the moon.

The facial features, particularly the very domed forehead, and the bald head are reminiscent of the official portraits of Jérôme de LaLande, in particular a terracotta bust modelled by Houdon. However, without attaching too much importance to resemblance, Fragonard seems to have improved on the looks of his model, who was very ugly.

Whoever the model was, this remains a beautiful painting in which Fragonard essentially sought to capture a fleeting expression. With a hasty execution and vigorous, even imperious touch, he gives a sketch-like feel to his work, conveying the vivacity and intelligence of its subject wonderfully.

M. A. P.

Inventory number: 
PDUT01194
Inventory number : PDUT01194
Acquisition details : Purchased using interest from the Dutuit bequest, 1978
Room 11. Art in the reign of Louis XV
The 18th century
Roll your mouse over the exhibit to view detail.
Previous
3 / 14
Next

+ TOUS LES MUSÉES DE LA VILLE DE PARIS

DéCOUVREZ LES 14 MUSéES DE LA VILLE DE PARIS

» Fermer
 Anonyme - Chaise à porteurs
François Boucher - La danse du petit chien
Jean-Baptiste Greuze - Un berger qui tente le sort pour savoir s’il est aimé de sa bergère
Hubert Robert - La Blanchisserie
 Jean Moisy (horloger) et Jean-Claude Chambellan dit Duplessis (orfèvre) - Pendule à orgues au concert de singes
Hubert Robert - Lavandières dans un parc
 Adrien Delorme et Pierre Roussel - Commode
Giambattista  Tiepolo - Alexandre et Bucéphale
Nicolas Sageot - Table bureau dit bureau Mazarin
Claude Joseph Vernet - Les Cascatelles de Tivoli
Jean-Honoré Fragonard - Jérôme de La Lande
 Manufacture de Beauvais  - Tapisserie : Psyché conduite par Zéphyr dans le palais de l'Amour et Psyché montrant ses richesses à ses sœurs
Roger Van der Cruse dit  La Croix (RVLC) - Meuble combiné : commode à battants - secrétaire en tiroir - armoire (à rideaux)
Jacques Louis David - La mort de Sénèque

Jérôme de La Lande

Jean-Honoré
Fragonard
1732, Grasse (Alpes-Maritimes) - 1806, Paris
vers 1769
Huile sur toile
H. 72 ; l. 59,5 cm

Cette oeuvre exécutée vers 1769 par Fragonard, alors au sommet de son art, se rattache peut-être à la célèbre série des portraits de fantaisie dont le musée du Louvre conserve plusieurs toiles.

Il s’agit d’un groupe de portraits rapidement brossés, de même format, où l’artiste a représenté ses amis ou des clients, tels Diderot, Mademoiselle Guimard, une célèbre danseuse, et l’Abbé de Saint Non. Ces figures sont représentées à mi-corps, parées de riches costumes « de fantaisie » qu’on appelait alors « à l’espagnole », et accompagnées de quelques accessoires, qui pourraient symboliser la profession du modèle. Bien que de taille légèrement différente du reste de la série, le tableau du Petit Palais est caractéristique de la manière de ces portraits de genre.

Les crayons de couleur  et les pinceaux ont longtemps laissé penser que ce portrait était celui du pastelliste, Charles Naudin. En raison de la présence de la mappemonde, la plupart des historiens estiment aujourd’hui, mais sans certitude,  que Fragonard a peint Jérôme de La Lande, (Joseph-Jérôme Le François dit Lalande, 1732-1807), un astronome très célèbre en son temps. Lalande acquis la célébrité en prévoyant, à un mois près, le passage de la comète de Halley, il calcula aussi la distance de la terre à la lune.

Les traits du visage, notamment le front très bombé, et la calvitie rappellent singulièrement les portraits attestés de Jérôme de LaLande, notamment un buste de terre cuite modelé par Houdon. Toutefois, sans trop s’attacher à la ressemblance, Fragonard aurait sensiblement embelli son modèle qui était fort laid.

Quel que soit ce modèle, reste un très beau morceau de peinture où Fragonard cherche essentiellement à capter la fugacité de l’expression. Par une exécution hâtive, une touche vigoureuse, impérieuse même, il confère à  son œuvre un caractère d’esquisse suggérant à merveille la vivacité et l’intelligence du personnage.

M. A. P.

Numéro d'inventaire: 
PDUT01194
Numéro d'inventaire : PDUT01194
Mode d'acquisition : Achat sur les arrérages du legs Dutuit, 1978
Salle 11. L'art sous Louis XV
XVIIIe siècle
Passer votre souris sur l'oeuvre pour la voir en détail.